First Post! Why I’m doing this, and Mittens!

A few days ago I decided to start a blog, here’s why:

  1. While I hesitate to call them New Year’s Resolutions, one of mine is to sew more.
  2. I have lots of fabric, patterns for projects I’m excited to do, and a sewing machine, but for whatever reason, I haven’t been sewing much.
  3. I’ve had several opportunities surrounding the ability to use WordPress come up recently.
  4. A few days ago, I was reading this page The Musings of a Dedicated Housefiancee: About, and it said “Publishing what I’m working on encourages me to finish tasks and try new things that I likely wouldn’t otherwise.”

So, basically, several things combined to make it seem like a good idea. I wanted to try something new to help encourage two of my interests (that at various times I’ve considered trying to use as moneymakers): Sewing, and Web Page Building. Anything that helps me with gaining more knowledge is good, and having something to show for what I’ve done always encourages me.

Now, for my current projects and pictures!

I have recently been regifted some fleece, and it was $0.99 McCall’s patterns at Hobby Lobby, so I thought I’d try my hand at making hats and mittens using McCall’s M5773.

McCalls M5773: Hats, scarves, mittens, and gloves

So far, I’ve made a hat from view B (the one in the bottom right corner) [no pictures right now], and a pair of mittens.

I disliked how the pattern instructions told you to attach the cuffs to both the mittens and the hat because in both cases, there were raw fabric edges visible on the inside, and it didn’t take much more effort to enclose them in the cuff.

But here’s a picture of me with my finished mittens:

Handmade mittens from white fleece with black paw prints

Mittens!

I didn’t get as much sewing done today as I would have liked, but I had some errands to run, and there was a 50% off sale at Goodwill. I got this awesome tabletop ironing board (something I needed, cause I’d just been using a stack of towels when I had to press things) for $1, and a shirt pattern for $0.24. I also bought a bunch of (stuff I didn’t really need) clothes, a dinosaur backpack, and other assorted things, but once I got back home and ate dinner, I used my new ironing board to start on my next project:


An apron made using two $1/yd fabrics from my new favorite store: The Foam Rubber and Fabric Outlet on 1323 Central St. in Knoxville. So far, I’ve just cut out the pieces using McCall’s M6255, and sewed the seams on the skirt.

Apron with curved hem

My apron will most resemble View B (bottom left corner), though with minor differences.

So, I have a traveling/cooking/cash earning experience coming up which might keep me busy for the next week, but when I have free time, I will for sure be customizing this blog’s appearance and adding a lot more bright colors as per my usual tastes, and hopefully putting up better pictures of my fun projects!

About Jessica C.

I'm a freegan riseout (a.k.a high school dropout) that's trying to make the world a better place. I'm currently residing in a communal house in East Tennessee with several activists where I'm learning through living about wonderful things like mutual aid and dumpstered Sweet Moments. When I'm not trying to help my friends end Mountaintop Removal, I'm probably swimming (in summer), sewing, being silly, or trying to use what tech skills I have to bring activism to the internet.

Posted on January 21, 2012, in Crafts, Sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

