RAWR! (A.K.A. Dinosaur Skirt)

Back in August, I found a “dinosaur and bug” sheet while thrift shopping at Goodwill, and I immediately thought it might be an interesting contrast to make a skirt out of it. I worked on it for a few days in September, and finished it before October, but never had pictures to post.

Dinosaur Skirt

Dinosaur Skirt

Simplicity 2224 - pattern with options for skirts and pantsThis skirt was simple and easy to make using Simplicity 2224. I used view B (the shorter skirt), which ends up looking more like the one pictured on the model on me, since I’m barely 5’3″. This skirt is very comfortable (and equally casual), but also practical with the roomy pockets. One more wearable garment completed, now on to making more exciting projects!

I love wearing this skirt, and it’s become a wardrobe staple, at least at most of the types of events I go to. I tend to get compliments for it, and I love being able to tell people I made it myself. I’ve had several requests to make other people versions also, but I haven’t actually tried to yet.

I’ve also made a fluorescent green tutu and various felt goodies and hairbows since my last posting, which I might upload in a few days.

2012-09 Dinosaur Skirt 01

Huge pockets!

A picture of myself wearing my Dinosaur Skirt

Posing in my skirt

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Skirt made out of beige fabric with blue apatosauruses, brown t-rexes and mammoths and assorted insects.

Upcycled Dinosaur Skirt with HUGE pockets!

About Jessica C.

I'm a freegan riseout (a.k.a high school dropout) that's trying to make the world a better place. I'm currently residing in a communal house in East Tennessee with several activists where I'm learning through living about wonderful things like mutual aid and dumpstered Sweet Moments. When I'm not trying to help my friends end Mountaintop Removal, I'm probably swimming (in summer), sewing, being silly, or trying to use what tech skills I have to bring activism to the internet.

Posted on December 9, 2012, in Freeganism, Sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

