Shiny Black Skirt and DIY Fray Check

A picture of brown haired girl wearing a white collared shirt with a forest green and navy blue striped sweater over it; a gathered black skirt made from shiny fabric, and green and black striped tights

 

Originally, the fabric for this skirt was intended to be the lining for the Lime Green Tutu I made, but when I got to the point to sew it in, I realized that all the layers of tulle obscured the shininess of the fabric. I decided to make it into a skirt instead!

  • Pattern:  Simplicity 2067
  • Fabric:  Polyester “Satinette”
  • Notions:  3/4″ Elastic
  • Time to complete:  7 hours?
  • Make again:  Hmm, it was really just 4 rectangles, and I think it’s a bit too much fabric for the style of skirts I prefer, so probably not.
  • Total cost: I bought 3 yards of the fabric for $3, and probably about $1 for the elastic, so $4

The fabric I used frayed a consderable  amount. To cut down on that, I tried a “DIY Fray Check” which was a mixture of white glue and water in a plastic ziploc bag with a corner cut off. It made the fabric stiff, and was a bit time consuming, but it did stop the edges from fraying. As soon as possible, I sewed the side seams with french seams (since I don’t have a serger) to fully enclose raw edges. After I washed the skirt, I haven’t noticed any stiffness, so I assume my mixture came out in the wash.

 

I like how shiny the skirt is, and I like to wear this skirt to dress up outfits alongside t-shirts. If I made it again, I would add pockets in the side seams, but since I was originally making this as a lining, I had already sewn the sides up by the time I realized this was going to be a skirt.

Simplicity 2067

Simplicity 2067 – The pattern I used for this skirt

A brown haired girl is wearing a brown shirt with pink music notes and a shiny black knee length skirt

Shiny skirt!

About Jessica C.

I'm a freegan riseout (a.k.a high school dropout) that's trying to make the world a better place. I'm currently residing in a communal house in East Tennessee with several activists where I'm learning through living about wonderful things like mutual aid and dumpstered Sweet Moments. When I'm not trying to help my friends end Mountaintop Removal, I'm probably swimming (in summer), sewing, being silly, or trying to use what tech skills I have to bring activism to the internet.

Posted on July 22, 2013, in Crafts, Sewing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

